top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Pretty Green Black Label AW18

Can't let a new Black Label collection pass by without some words. It's fair to say this one (as usual) has created some fuss.

For me this is the most casual BL collection since the Hendrix inspired SS16 'Modern Musician' range. Never sure if a casual collection is where BL best sits with its best of the best heritage.

Unusually for Pretty Green they've gone with the same theme/influence across both GL and BL, so we have this post-punk period of the UK music scene. I think we can safely assume that the Mancunian starlets Joy Division are the key influencer within all this.

For me personally the range is one of 2 halves really, stuff that feels inline with the theme and stuff that doesn't feel part of it at all. A bit like the Storm Capsule from a few years back, carrying two separate logos definitely gave that range a split-personality.

PG are always spot-on with their musical history, so it's likely I remember nothing.

I've picked out a few pieces I like, I'm sure everyone has their own views on what they like and dislike, as always I'll stick to the stuff that I like! There's no love lost on the pieces that aren't quite for me, but we all have our own taste don't we so all items will find a home.

Up first a piece I love, and for those that have followed the page for some time there will be no surprise in this choice, or choices as there's 2 of them. This is one of the pieces I feel is at odds with the collection, kind of sticks out as being out of place as I don't associate these styles with the time period. This style I see as more 60's Peace and Love George Harrison Flower Power, not post-punk. But it's absolutely the kind of gear I love and a look PG excel at creating.

Next up, a proper cool Overcoat for the colder days. I'm still 50/50 on whether I'd prefer this in a more standard cut or not, perhaps the asymmetric just gives it a little something different. Made from a wool/cashmere blend this is maybe one to keep for best use. Done out in a cool tartan, Black Watch I think but would need a little more insight to confirm that, it will look the absolute business paired up with a white shirt and dark trouser, navy or deep charcoal I'd reckon, never black!

On to some neckwear and we get a pair of top class scarves. First we have a classic tartan scarf, Made In Italy from 100% wool. I don't think you need much more than that. A piece of class.

The second is a knitted affair, going by the ingredients list it's made from about 113 materials, all of which combined should make it both warm and lasting. It's listed as 312cm long, which is massive, a bit Tom Baker Doctor Who in length! So plenty of wrap for the colder days.

Now we move on to a bit of a gem, a Millerain fabric bag, perfect weekend getaway stuff. Made with Millerain's waxed cotton, this is an investment piece. Again carrying the tartan of the range, this is a timeless piece not just for twenty four hours, if you're in the market for a weekend bag. Not too much is given away with the stock images, we can see it's lined and carries the new graphic braising of the range.

Sticking with tartan for a little bit, there is also a blazer incoming at a later date somewhere, looks pretty damn decent from the promo shot.

Right, moving on to another piece of Outerwear, because when it comes to BL that is where a lot of people tend to head first. This a classic Grand Coat style, very close to the Daddy of the style, the Fool On The Hill Overcoat. The sleeve badges will be marmite for people, I tend to live on the side of the fence that prefers these classic styles not to carry logos or badges of any sort, so down to the individual to decide. These days I personally go between the 2 looks, love it one day, not so keen the next. I'd wear this.

Time to top things off, the one that has caused a lot of disorder. First thing, it's another piece that doesn't tie in to the atmosphere of the theme or time period, or is it maybe more Ziggy than Ian? Dunno. It's no surprise to see this style turn up after the man at the head of PG wore a similar style last year. I've heard from folks who both love and who hate this one. For me, this is what PG are all about, taking risks and trying things that are a bit unusual, we'll never say they walked in line will we.?

While not limited edition I have heard these are made in limited numbers, so if it's tickling the eyes you might not want to hold off too long.

And that's the round up finished, that's our Black Label AW18 range out, there are still a few pieces to come going by the promo campaign, but by and large we're done and dusted.

What do you think of the range?

Peace&Love&Mercy, theSub

bottom of page