top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Chat with Jonny


Grab a brew and enjoy a read through of an Exclusive Q&A with the genius that is Jonny Owen, most recently hitting the headlines for his outstanding movie Svengali . I’ve put some questions to the main man on the top topics of the day, cloth, music and football….enjoy Can you share what projects you are working on at the moment and what’s in the pipeline? I’ve just done a football documentary about the Forest European Cup Winning side of 1979. It’s a remarkable story and as football fan it’s fascinated me from a kid. It would basically be like someone managing Barnsley now and winning two Champions Leagues in five years. I’ve got a lot of the old team and footage and I cut it to some great music. Hopefully be out later this year. I’ve also done a script set in 1979 Scotland. The day Thatcher got into power. They hope to film it early next year. The perfect Saturday night out? Me and Vicky at a nice restaurant with good food, drink and company. First piece of clothing you remember saving up to own, have you still got it? I saved up to by a Yellow Fred Perry Shirt when I was around 11 years of age. Alas, it’s long gone. I had older and younger brothers so things were often passed around. What labels do you find yourself drawn towards at the moment The classic’s really. Your Fred Perry’s, Lacoste, Ben Sherman’s. I always seem to be wearing either desert boots or adidas. I like Pretty Green and a lot of the Weekend Offender stuff. I rather like the Ivy League look too. You can’t beat being smart. Nice button down with a v neck jumper. What were the labels of your youth? It was all Ralph Lauren and Armani when I was about 17/18. The baggy look especially. I loved all that. It coincided with whole Manchester thing. It was a great time. Your wardrobe essentials? I have a few suits. A man needs a smart cut suit. I have a few Saville Row ones. I always enjoy wearing one. Current favourite item of clothing? I have these delicious junction desert boots. Called the ‘Crowleys’ after Gary. They look great and keep their shape beautifully. Current favourite tipple? I’m into the old Red Wine at the moment! ha. A nice Rioja. Can’t beat it. CD, Vinyl or MP3? MP3 at the moment for when I’m out and about. All on my phone. I’ve got all three formats though. I DJ with CD’s but I’ve got some Vinyl knocking about in storage. I’m not massively into it like others though. I’m not the type to go sifting through record shops. Fair play to them that do, they have more patience than me. Top 3 tunes of the moment Blimey…let me see. The Love I Lost - Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes I Believe in Miracles - Jackson Sisters Ghosts - The Jam Are there any tracks that with hindsight you wish you’d used in Svengali? I wanted to use 'Tangled Up in Love’ by the Rifles. I love the band and song. I wish I’d got it on there now. I’ll use them next time though.

How did you develop the character Don for Martin Freeman? Was it based on anyone? We kind of developed it together really. He’s based on those really snobby intimidating Mods that terrified you as a kid but as you get older you realise that it really doesn’t matter what people say. There are no rules. No one is born cool, it’s a process of learning. We had a lot of fun and I get asked about that scene a lot. People really enjoyed it. He’s a great actor and guy too. Have you found your style has changed over the years? Yes, like everyone things change. I’ve grown my hair a few times, worn flared chords in the mid 90’s. I love the casual look too. It’s morphed into much of what you’d loosely call Mod now. People love their trainers and tracksuit tops. I think is a great look. A smart pair of shoes with jeans and nice shirt and harrington jacket. Timeless really. Very British too I suppose and like I’ve long said it’s a good look for the older gentleman. We’re luckier than Punks and Goths in that our style is something we can grown into! Parka or leather jacket? Parka. Without a doubt. Not even close. Mod rather than Rocker any day!

What albums would be in the soundtrack to your life? The Stone Roses first album. Oasis Definitely Maybe. Happy Monday Pill’s and Thrills and a Northern Soul Compilation. That’ll do me. Did you ever get the Pretty Green McQueen styled GP jacket you had your eye on? No, I’ve had a few others though and I love the jeans. Wore a pair from new on the film everyday for six weeks and they literally fell off me on the last day. Mind you I’d fallen in a Loch in Scotland in them. Liam has a great look going on so it made sense to get involved in a label. I think him and his brother are two of our greatest Rock Stars. I’ve always said it too. The football season is fast approaching, what are your hopes for the Bluebirds for 2014/15? To go back to playing in Blue one day and the owner to leave. The Premiership was the biggest anti climax. Totally overrated. How does it feel to be a Cardiff City supporter during such an unstable time in the clubs history? It’s what it is. I’m okay and my life is great, never better. The last thing I’m doing is arguing with other Cardiff fans about it. I’ve made my case from the start. We should be playing in Blue as a home kit and out badge should have a Bluebird. I don’t trust the owner. He’s gone back on his word and we’re more in debt and dependent on him than ever. We’ve seen the German model and how successful that is but do we learn? Of course we don’t because people are obsessed with the Premiership. It’s all about money there and that’s never good thing. What does the future hold for the Bluebirds? Where can you see Cardiff City being in 20 years time? They’ll still be there. The fans are always loyal aren’t they? You can’t buy that. They have some brilliant support and that’s what will pull it through. It’s Saturday, you’re heading to the match, what are you wearing and what tunes get you in the mood for the day ahead? Fred Perry Jacket, Lacoste Shirt. Pretty Green Jeans and Adidas Bamba trainers. I’m listening to Never Mind the Bollocks by the Sex Pistols. Any match day rituals? Pint with the boys before the game. Naturally. MASSIVE thanks to Jonny for his time to answer the questions with such great answers, absolute top lad and total gentleman…!

Peace&Love&Mercy, theSub

bottom of page