top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Wishing On A Star


Only just into their second year and Real Stars Are Rare have dropped their new 3rd Collection. Going with a simple ethos of no particular demographic and no real adherence to the strict seasonal calendar of fashion. Design stuff, make it, put it out when it's ready...acting differently.

Rather than plough through the entire range I'll pick out a few items that have caught my eye and go through why. One of the first things you can see with the new collection is a huge splash of colour, not sure who left Paul and Phil unattended with the paint pots, but they sure had fun.

Suits have been given a major facelift and grown substantially. A lot of admiring glances will be cast upon the Fox Brothers collaboration (let's be honest, the POW is a bit WOW), but for me it's all about the quiet evolution of the RSAR DB Suit. Restrained colouring in Navy and Black, a material upgrade to Wool and a major enhancement with a change to the Parallel Trouser style. I don't think I have ever worn a DB suit, but the Navy version introduced could be the first one for me. Ultimately it just looks good, the colour suits the design and the style changes lift it. For a premium Label I don't think the price is too outrageous for an Italian fabric full suit also.

Knitwear is the area with the most new additions in the collection. The stand out piece for me is the Roll Neck, there's just something about the dual colour format that is catching my eye. The Navy/Red combination in particular demands a closer look. High end materials are used and clever manufacturing to produce a seam free piece.

I'm also a big fan of the Shetland Crew Jumper, the open weave around the neck lifts the piece away from the standard crew-neck construction woolen jumpers. The Apple Green variation was recently seen on Weller's back, and for good reason, it's a cracker of a colour.

Have to also mention the now ubiquitous Star Knits, a heavier weave has been introduced for the colder Winter months. There is also a 100% Silk style, that might be one for the rock star among you, and for those with a hirsute chest rug you may want to try on first.

Shirts adds a couple of new styles that really stand out from the crowd. New Floral and Paisley bespoke designs have been created and used across a couple of colourways. Perfect smart shirts for wearing formally or paired off with jeans, a good adaptable piece

T-Shirts have again had some simple changes and additions. Weller's favourite Henley has been woven in a slightly heavier cotton for the Winter coldness and some new colours have been added to the palette. Again for me, the green stands out. A nice plain tee has been added to the range with some nice detailing across the shoulder. The only bow to labelism being a discrete RSAR star down near the hem.

One of the big talking points on the social media feeds has been the pricing of the range. I'm not about to start telling anyone how to spend their cash, for me price is always a very personal thing and it's up to you whether the price is justifiable to you personally, if you have the cash available (or can save for it) and ultimately whether you want to spend cash on that piece.

I have a few RSAR pieces, I had to put cash aside and save up for them. Would I do it again, yes I would as I am personally very happy with the quality. But that's me, I can't speak for others and I won't tell you how to spend your hard earned.

So, what's missing from the range. I'll not go too hard here obviously, RSAR are young and starting out, it would be silly to demand this, that and the next thing. I mentioned in the preview I think Scarves would be popular, speaking to folks on the page I know that's a shared view. In writing this I also just noticed there isn't any Outerwear, hopefully that's something under consideration as I think it would fit well with the brand.

Anything else, still hoping for the footwear we know RSAR considered, I can't help think they'd do a more than decent Chelsea boot to pair off with their trousers. Or a nice Jazz Brogue, as worn by Weller himself, would go down a storm. And Paul himself has previous for this style having created some for his collaboration with Pretty Green.

Collection 3 provides a great evolution for the brand, it's a good step forward. The lifting of colour across the range helps move things along also. Lots of really nice pieces in the new ranges, keeping things classic, simple and straight forward. Right, I'm off to put a lottery ticket on....

Peace&Love, the Sub

bottom of page